Rules of Entry

Entries will open in July 2019. Please follow us on @newsbrandsirl on Twitter for further updates

Entry to the Journalism Awards is open to any work published in print, website, online, mobile, video, audio or any other news delivery format from any NewsBrands Ireland member title. 

Entry is open to work first published in a NewsBrands Ireland title between 1st July 2018 and July 1st 2019.

Entries are open to both staff and freelance journalists.

All entries must be submitted from journalists ordinarily working in Ireland and/or for working for newspapers/news websites published in Ireland or for Irish editions of newspapers published outside the state.

Entries are limited to one entry per journalist per category. However, there is no limit on the number of categories you can enter.

Entries must be the sole work of the named entrant or team.

All entries must be made via the online entry system. Please note that the system can only accept PDFs and if your article appeared across multiple pages, you must save it as one PDF for submission. Entries made in the incorrect format will be automatically disqualified

Entrants for the Young Journalist of the Year must be aged 28 or younger on 30th of June 2019.

If a category has both a broadsheet and tabloid/popular option, it is up to the editor to decide which category the title will enter.  Entries will not be accepted in both broadsheet and tabloid/popular from the same title.

The Judging Panel, at their discretion, can nominate work for inclusion, subject to the approval of the creator of the work.

The Judging Panel can move work to another category if appropriate.

The decision of the judging panel is final

Eligible News Brands for Broadsheet/Compact categories

  • Irish Examiner
  • Irish Farmers Journal
  • Irish Independent
  • Irish Mail on Sunday
  • Sunday Business Post
  • Sunday Independent
  • The Irish Times
  • The Sunday Times
  • The Times, Ireland Edition

Eligible News Brands for Popular categories

  • Dublin Live
  • Irish Daily Mail
  • Irish Daily Mirror
  • Irish Daily Star
  • Irish Sun on Sunday
  • Irish Sunday Mirror
  • Sunday World
  • The Herald
  • The Irish Sun

View 2018 Awards Night Gallery

View 2017 Awards Night Gallery

View 2016 Awards Night Gallery

View Categories

Enter Now!

dermot griffin - national lottery

“The National Lottery is very happy to support the 2019 NewsBrands Ireland Journalism Awards and we are proud to be associated with this wonderful showcase of original Irish journalism. Ireland has a long tradition of producing outstanding journalists, and the talent of today’s generation helps to ensure the continuing relevance of newspapers and news media in this country. We salute all participating journalists and look forward to celebrating their work in November.”

Dermot Griffin, Chief Executive
The National Lottery